Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Ampegs
Hi all,

I am a newbie to Ampegs, but I have built a couple of Fender clones (Deluxe and Champ), which both went well and I am currently building a Vibroverb.

I have just taken ownership of a R-12-R 1963, with the 6SL7, 6SN7, 6V6GT and 5Y3 configuration. The tremolo is not working, but everything else is all ok. Two caps have been replaced fairly recently in the reverb section by the looks of it, but it is otherwise stock, including 3 x original Ampeg badged Sylvanaia tubes. The rest are old (not dated) RCA's.

I have looked at the schematic and I am struggling to understand where the signal enters the tremolo section. Can somebody explain the tremolo section, I am used to a separate channel, as used in Fenders.

I am loving this amp, but really want to get the tremolo up to speed so to speak.

Many thanks

Dave
The tremolo in the r-12R is a bias modulation type as i recall. The guitar signal never really "goes through" the circuit, The tremolo oscillator just oscillates the bias voltage, much like it does in the fender deluxe.
If you are not getting tremolo, it's possible that the oscillator isn't working. That amp should have a foot switch though, Maybe the foot switch is bad?
(06-05-2015, 07:43 AM)Hangman Wrote: The tremolo in the r-12R is a bias modulation type as i recall. The guitar signal never really "goes through" the circuit, The tremolo oscillator just oscillates the bias voltage, much like it does in the fender deluxe.
If you are not getting tremolo, it's possible that the oscillator isn't working. That amp should have a foot switch though, Maybe the foot switch is bad?

Thanks Hangman. I was thinking in terms of the Fender Vibrato, which is a separate channel of course......doh!

You are correct regarding the bias modulation and I will be checking it out this weekend. I have a few spare caps and resistors kicking about, so should get it running fairly easily....famous last words?

Thanks again